Join us to celebrate the 2017 Dalhousie Alumni Award recipients on October 12. View online »
Dal Alumni logo

2017 Dalhousie Alumni Awards

Winners announced

George Elliott Clarke, 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award
Share this on: Share this on Facebook Share this on Twitter Share this on LinkedIn Share this on Pinterest Share this on Google+ Share this on Tumblr Share this on Email

On Thursday, October 12, the Dalhousie Alumni Association will host its annual alumni dinner and awards. The DAA Awards recognize and honour four alumni for their outstanding achievements and contributions. These remarkable individuals are carrying on Dalhousie’s nearly 200-year tradition of excellence.

This year your fellow alumnus George Elliott Clarke (MA’89, LLD’99) will be awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes Dalhousie alumni for a lifetime of accomplishments in career and/or community service.

For close to five decades, Dr. Clarke has chronicled African-Canadian history and experience through his poems, plays, and novels. His dynamic voice and fresh perspectives on race, equality and freedom have made him a Canadian icon. His powerful work has earned him many awards and honours throughout the years, including his current role as the Parliamentary Poet Laureate. He has been recognized with the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Fellowship Prize, the William P. Hubbard Award for Race Relations, the Eric Hoffer Book Award for Poetry, the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award, the Governor-General’s Award for Poetry, and the National Magazine Gold Medal for Poetry. He has also been appointed to the Order of Nova Scotia (2006) and the Order of Canada (2008).

We are proud to call Dr. Clarke a member of the Dalhousie alumni family and hope you will join us to celebrate him and the other award winners on October 12.


Please purchase your tickets online or contact:
Kirsten Tobin, Associate Director, Advancement Events | 1.902.494.2807 | 1.800.568.7403


2017 Dalhousie Alumni Association award winners also include:

Susan Keating-Bekkers (DipDH’91), A. Gordon Archibald Award Loran Morrison (BSc’11, BSc’14) 2017 Volunteerism Award Omar Gandhi (BEDS’03, MARFP’05) Christopher J. Coulter Award.

Susan Keating-Bekkers (DipDH’91)
A. Gordon Archibald Award

Loran Morrison
(BSc’11, BSc’14)

Volunteerism Award

Omar Gandhi
(BEDS’03, MARFP’05)

Christopher J. Coulter Award

Dalhousie Alumni logo